Bit of a catch up

I’ve been doing a lot more crocheting and knitting than blogging! Here a few photos of finished makes to catch up.

Here’s a lacy cardigan I knitted for my grandaughter Rose in antique white cotton. It was a hit so I’m currently making one the next size up and also a tiny baby one for the new grandaughter arriving in December.roses-lacy-cardi.jpg

A new pencil case which was a quick weekend make as I needed it for my new job at the college. This was from Nicki Trench’s book Crocheted Cosies

pencil case

There have been a few blankets off my hook too:

Frida’s Flowers by Jane Crowfoot

Frida's flowers

I love the 3D effect of the flowers. Not my usual colour palette but the design is from Mexican inspiration.

I needed an uplifting easy C2C make whilst I was in hospital so this little baby blanket flew off my hook. The repeating pattern is beautifully meditative.

Red baby blanket (2)

There’s the Meadow Blanket which was a Drops CAL. A delight to make in cotton.

WP_20160608_001

Lastly, my current make is another Last Dance on the Beach in the Dancing in the Rain colour palette. I had already made one which Alex adopted and then Jude wanted a bigger version for her new house. Jude’s is slightly different colour scheme with parchment for the border. I’ll add a photo when it is finished.

WP_20160731_17_31_18_Pro

 

4 thoughts on “Bit of a catch up

  1. Could you please tell me what brand yarn you used for aran heart throw and what colours were used. It’s beautiful.
    Thank you
    Tracey

  2. Do you have the pattern for Aran heart throw? I’d like to make it the way you did. I would appreciate the extra instructions that you added to the original pattern.

    • Hi Diane, I don’t have a pattern just some handwritten notes. This is what I’ve found: 84x 93 inches needed 10 white, 7 graphite, 12 silver and 8 grey balls of Stylecraft Special Aran. Starting chain was 386 chains for 384 stitches. I remember I changed the stitch for the popcorn hearts. I did the row in uk double crochet / US single crochet. The popcorn was made using 4 half trebles (US half doubles) and joined with a chain. There’s a note showing I clearly had a challenge with the counting! It looks like I did 11 stitches then popcorn then 18 stitches between popcorns, repeated across the row. Hope that helps a little. Good luck Diane, it’s great fun to make!

Leave a comment